of the Legislative Assembly are elected on a property vote. Each district elects one Councillor (elected on a property vote) and one Assembly member (elected on a general franchise vote).

The annual salary of the Premier is \$6,000 and that of a Cabinet Minister \$4,000, except for the Minister of Education and the Minister of Health each of whom receives \$3,000. Every Member of the Assembly is paid the sum of \$1,450 for each session attended by him and an additional amount of \$500 tax free as indemnity for expenses incurred. The Speaker is paid an additional sum of \$400 and a further additional amount of \$200 tax free as an indemnity. The Leader of the Opposition is paid an additional sum of \$800 and a further additional amount of \$200 tax free for expenses incurred by him in performance of official duties.

15.—Legislatures and Premiers of Prince Edward Island 1935-58 and Ministry as at Sept. 1, 1958

Legislatures 1935-581

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
July 23, 1935 May 18, 1939 Sept. 15, 1943 Dec. 11, 1947 Apr. 26, 1951 May 25, 1955	18th	5 4 4 5 6	Sept. 25, 1935 Mar. 20, 1940 Feb. 15, 1944 Feb. 24, 1948 Oct. 23, 1951 Feb. 2, 1956	Apr. 21, 1939 Aug. 20, 1943 Oct. 27, 1947 Mar. 30, 1951 Apr. 27, 1955

¹ The Ministries from 1935-58 were: 19th Ministry sworn in Oct. 14, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. P. MacMillan; 20th Ministry sworn in Aug. 15, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. M. Lea; 21st Ministry sworn in Jan. 14, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. T. A. Campbell; 22nd Ministry sworn in May 11, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. J. Walter Jones; 23rd Ministry sworn in May 25, 1953, under the leadership of Hon. A. W. Matheson. ² Life of Legislature not expired at Sept. 1, 1958.

Twenty-Third Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, May 25, 1955: 27 Liberals and 3 Progressive Conservatives.)

Note.—Ministers are shown at date of original appointment as a Minister and at date of appointment to present portfolio, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier. Date of appointment does not necessarily mean that the Minister was sworn in on date given.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, Attorney and Advocate General, President of the Executive Council, and Minister of Welfare and of Labour. Minister of Industry and Natural Resources and of Fisheries. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Education. Provincial Secretary and Treasurer. Minister of Highways and Public Works. Minister of Health. Minister without Portfolio. Minister without Portfolio.	Hon. Alexander W. Matheson. Hon. Dougald MacKinnon Hon. Eugene Cullen Hon. Keir Clark Hon. B. Earle MacDonald Hon. J. George MacKay Hon. M. Lorne Bonnell Hon. Edward P. Foley Hon. F. Whillips.	June 16, 1951 May 25, 1953 Jan. 18, 1955 June 15, 1955 June 10, 1954	May 25, 1953 June 15, 1955 Mar. 6, 1958 June 15, 1955 June 15, 1955 June 15, 1955 June 15, 1955 June 15, 1955 Mar. 6, 1958 June 15, 1955 June 15, 1955 June 15, 1955 June 15, 1955 June 15, 1955 June 15, 1955

Subsection 3.-Nova Scotia

The Government of the Province of Nova Scotia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. Major General the Honourable E. C. Plow, Lieutenant-Governor at Sept. 1, 1958, was commissioned to office Jan. 15, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 87, and the 1957-58 edition, p. 63.